Academy Councils

Academy Councils have three core functions:
  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils and the performance management of the staff.
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

Each Academy Council is made up of:

  • Three Parent Governors
  • Three Co-opted Governors
  • Three staff members.

At Barlow Hall the Academy Councillors / Governors are:

  • Mike Cowell (parent)
  • Amina Duale (parent)
  • Vacancy (parent)
  • Teresa Regan (co-opted)
  • Angela Young (co-opted)
  • Cath York (co-opted)
  • Jayne Kennedy (headteacher)
  • Jen Holden (deputy head)
  • Alex Vaugan (classteacher)

At Brookburn the Academy Councillors / Governors are:

  • Colin Mac Farlane (chair and parent)
  • Liz Cooper (parent)
  • Jennifer Barker (co-opted)
  • Anette Hargreaves (co-opted)
  • Kiera Gould (co-opted)
  • Diane Madden (teaching assistant)
  • Schelene Ferris (headteacher)
  • Emily Henderson (deputy headteacher)
  • Parent governor¬† (vacancy)
"We feel privileged to be part of such a wonderful school."
Parent at Barlow Hall